They were right: it’s a small world, after all (minus all those creepy doll faces with the eyes following you back and forth).

Katherine and I met last year at a restaurant in Jerusalem when I was celebrating my 24th birthday. Unfortunately, she was at the other end of the bar, and I didn’t realize until months after following her food blog that the girl I had partly shared my birthday with was actually her!

Why is this great news for you? Because Katherine is a phenomenal cook, photographer and travel & food writer, and her blog is only a small indication of her enormous talent. You can only imagine how thrilled and incredibly honored I am that she agreed to do a guest post here this week – particularly because I haven’t been able to post (read: cook or eat) anything delicious in the last 10 days because of finals, so I figured we were all due for something extra-special!

Katherine agreed to come up with a recipe for something I would normally not be able to bring to you: fish, which I am deathly allergic to. Her fish tacos look gorgeous – colorful, adaptable and refreshing, especially on these warm days we’ve been enjoying here in San Francisco (excluding today).

I hope you enjoy them! And please check out Katherine’s incredible food, photos and writing HERE.

Serves: 4 people

What you need:

¼ C all purpose flour
1 Tblsp corn starch
Salt and pepper
1 lb tilapia filets, sliced (or other mild white fish)
Vegetable oil
2 limes
Salt and pepper
12 (7-inch) tortillas, warmed
1 C shredded white or red cabbage
Chopped cilantro, for garnish
Sour cream

How to do it:

Combine the flour and cornstarch in a medium-sized bowl. Season with salt & pepper. Add the sliced tilapia and toss to coat. Add a bit of vegetable oil to a large skillet, enough to evenly coat the entire bottom. Heat over medium heat. Once the oil is hot, add the fish in an even layer (do not crowd the pan, and work in layers if you must).

Cook until the bottom is starting to become crispy and flip. Cook until, well, cooked through, then remove from the heat. Squeeze the juice of 1 lime over the fish. Take a warmed tortilla and lay a few pieces of fish in the middle. Top with shredded cabbage, chopped cilantro, sour cream, and your favorite salsa (Katherine recommends a black bean and corn mix). Repeat with the remaining tortillas and filling. Serve about three per person with a wedge of lime. Enjoy!

24 thoughts on “Special Guest Post: Fish Tacos, by Katherine Martinelli

  1. Nami | Just One Cookbook says:

    Hi Lauren! I just came over from Katherine’s blog. Nice to meet you! Your story of meeting Katherine is amazing…especially you realized it later after seeing her blog! Life is funny sometimes but it was nice that you two finally got to know each other. I love fish tacos and thank you Katherine for this great recipe. I live in SF Bay Area too – and yes it’s been really nice weather lately!! Have a good day!

    1. Hi Nami! Thanks for stopping by my blog! It was truly a serendipitous meeting with Katherine, and I’m so excited that she shared this recipe. Enjoy the sunshine, and thanks again!

  2. Thanks so much for having me on your blog Lauren!! What a treat 🙂

    1. Also, I just realized when I left a comment it was linking somewhere weird… fixed 🙂

    2. Thank YOU! I am honored 🙂

  3. Nice to see Katherine guest posting here. This recipe is perfect for my tastes. While I have seen a lot of recipes recently for fish tacos, this one really stands out. These tacos are made with a light seasoning which lets the veggie toppings do most of the flavor enhancing to the fish. A good piece of fish does not require a lot and your recipe agrees with that. Well done!

    1. She is truly a recipe genius. Thanks for checking out my blog!

  4. Food Stories says:

    These look so good. I have subscribed to the site, Lauren, and can’t wait to see what’s coming next!

    1. Thank you! I look forward to sharing more fun + delicious recipes with you!

  5. Hi Lauren, nice to meet you via Katherine’s post! These tacos sound amazing, and I’ll have to peek around and see some of your other delicious recipes!

    1. Please do! Thanks so much for checking out my blog!

  6. Misky says:

    I have all the ingredients to hand, and I’m making this tonight. I’ll use haddock fillets though. Thanks for the inspiration!

      1. Misky says:

        Everyone said YUM! Great idea. 🙂

    1. I’m so happy you enjoyed them Misky!!

  7. Hannah says:

    Hi Lauren, I’m happy to discover your blog! Katherine’s fish tacos look incredible. I love the story of you two meeting – it was meant to be. I’m excited to check out more on your blog. Good luck with your finals!

  8. mjskit says:

    Hello Lauren – another visitor from Katherine’s blog. Nice to be here and looking forward to exploring your blog further. The story of how you and Katherine first met is such a great small world story! As always Katherine – your recipe looks great! About the only way I’ll eat talapia is in a fish tacos and I do love these tacos!

    1. Thanks so much for stopping by my blog and peeking around. Enjoy Katherine’s recipe!

  9. rsmacaalay says:

    Nice choice of fish, I love tilapia and thats sad we dont have it here in NZ

  10. kitchenriffs says:

    Great recipe! I found you through Katherine’s blog. Really enjoying my visit here – I’ll be back! Thanks for this.

    1. Thanks! Please peek around!

    2. Thank you so much! Katherine’s great, and thank you so much for peeking around!

Leave a comment